Need Help Choosing Camcorder With XLR Inputs Or Without

Videomaker – Learn video production and editing, camera reviews Forums Cameras and Camcorders Other Camcorders Need Help Choosing Camcorder With XLR Inputs Or Without

Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

I am trying to decide on a camcorder. I have it narrowed down to 3 and one of the 3 does not have xlr inputs, only a 3.5 mm external mic jack, but is $800 cheaper. All 3 will meet my needs.

I am just getting started in video and have little experience. From what has been recommended to me so far in this forum and after quite a bit of research, most of the external mics I have chosen all have xlr outputs. So it seems that my only option is to go with the 2 more expensive camcorders that have the xlr inputs.

Is this the case or is there some type of device that can act as a bridge perhaps that the mics can plug into and then the device plugs into the 3.5 mm jack on the camcorder.

Please let me know if there is any alternative that will address this issue.

Participant

Search http://www.markertek.com and http://www.bhphotovideo.com for these cables. You'll find lots of options.

Chris – make sure you get a cable that matches the impedance between the mic and your camera – like this $25 Pearstone or this $29 Sescom

That said, the reason you want XLR inputs is that they lock, and the connections and cables are more substantial – 3.5mm jacks don't lock and are generally flimsy.  I have used both in the field, and recommend XLR, if you can afford it.

Good luck with your decision,

Bill

Hybrid Camera Revolution

Participant

I have cameras with and without XLR inputs. I like the XLR better due to them locking in the camera. The XLR cables will also be less prone to problems in the field from use.

Participant