Need advice: Not credited in the final project

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      ramin85

Hi,

I’m in a tough position. I’m an editor with a few years of experience in the field and I am in unfamiliar waters at the moment.

I’ve learned the hard way to draw contracts for any sort of job I do. I took a job to edit a music video for a friend, an artist without a written contract. However, being an easy and trusting guy, I accepted the artist’s word saying he’ll pay my compensation after the video is released since we started on good grounds and he’s known me for a few years and we’ve done some work together before.

I spent 70+ hours on the project and knowing the artist as “a friend”, I handed the final video to him to take it to a lab for color correction I didn’t hesitate to oblige. However, I just saw the video online today and found out that I’m not credited at all. Instead, he credited himself as the director and the editor.

The money is of an less importance. What hurts the most is not being acknowledged for all the hard work I’ve put in on a discount rate for a hopeful artist who’s on the budget to make a break in the music video scene.

The video is on YouTube and is sent to be played on a few TV stations. I’m here pleading for any advice from fellow editors cause I’m in a situation I have never been put into.

JackWolcott
      Participant

I’d head to my attorney as fast as possible. Your work has been stolen and you may be able at the very least to obtain a “cease and desist” order if you can prove it. I grew up in a Sicilian neighborhood and subscribe to the “don’t get mad, get even” philosophy; I’d make a point of letting everyone in your video community know what has happened, and I’d certainly inform You Tube of the situation.
      Also, not to put too fine a point on it, I’d never work for anyone, ever, without a contract!

Kevin Mc