Need advice for filming band in warehouse

Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author

Hello to all forum members!

I’m new to video creation and need help in getting the right equipment to record quality footage of 2 to 4 band members playing live in our warehouse studio.

Here is a video clip of the space with the ugly overhead lights on.

What we are trying to achieve is an intimate live setting with close friends and family watching from living room style furniture, think “MTV unplugged from a big living room” and you’ll have the basic idea. Here are the two videos that inspired us to try this.

We have all the audio equipment we will ever need so no problems there.
      I have no idea how to setup the lighting for such an event or what is the best low light cameras to use.

Here is some cameras I thought might work but I’m open to suggestions
      Canon XA30
      Canon XC10
      Sony PXW X70
      Panasonic DMC-GH4

Any advice would be most appreciated.

Don’t even think of shooting in low light. Light it properly and shut down the exposure to achieve the dimly lit “look”. Use the barn doors to keep the light off the walls. This will be tricky as you have a small space compared to the sample videos. You’ll need at least 4 matching cameras, 6 will be better. Consider shooting the band without an audience first – so you can get the angles etc, then shoot the audience from behind the band. It will make the space look bigger.

Participant