NEED A LOW BUDGET PRO HD CAM

Viewing 20 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

I am a beginner in the world of videographers, although I have been an enthusiast long ago. I recently bought Nikon D5200 (with 18mm- 55mm[1:3.5-5.6]) and (55mm-300mm[1:4.5-5.6]) both AF-S Nikkor lens. My intension then was to do my photography basically and good HD video for my clients and kick start my passion for home video. At the moment, I am considering adding Panasonic HC – MDH2 to my gears. My budget limit is $1,500. With this new camera, I intend to focus on video. I need some guideline and advice please.

From what I have seen on B&H, this camera is PAL only.  Are you outside the US?

Participant

Thanks for your response. Yes I reside in Nigeria.

Oh, OK.  I've never used that particular camera.  Based on the specifications, it looks like it will do well.  My concern would be audio inputs.  The pictures that I have seen on B&H show the possibility of mounting an external microphone, yet it doesn't have XLR inputs listed in the specifications; only stereo mini in for a microphone.  But if you are only planning on using it for home movies, maybe you aren't necessarily looking to be able to connect an external microphone.

Participant

Thank you once again for your response. I actually noticed the audio issue but thought I could resolve that using a male xlr to jack with a jack to stereo adapter. Also, what makes me consider it is due to the fact that it was recently launched, its better than many others in its category.

Participant

Sometimes a simple cord adapter doesn’t cut it in the quality department. (Tried one and it failed miserably.)

I use a BeachTek DXA-2T and get good quality audio from my xlr microphones into the 1/8″ stereo mic input.

Participant