My video project is making my head explode, please help

Videomaker – Learn video production and editing, camera reviews Forums General Video and Film Discussion My video project is making my head explode, please help

Viewing 12 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

I am new to video production and I am wanting to create an online information product to be sold on my companies website.I have done alot of video editing using Vegas Movie Studio HD Platinum and have experience with shooting Youtube type video but nothing of any real quality though I am a fast learner. We are a small company so our budget won't allow us to use professional videographers so it looks like I will be doing this in house. My question is since the video will be viewed online AND offered seperatly on dvd what kind of video camera would be best?

I don't mind spending more on the camera to get better quality but my budget tops out at around 2500 for a used camera.

I hope you can help get me on track, thanks

P.S. I almost forgot. I will also be using the same camera to film events as well as seminars

Participant

Check out the Sony NEX-VG20. You can pick them up for around 2K. 

Participant

Thanks for the replys. Chuck, I am the web guy, superviser and all around grand poobah in my company (there are only 6 of us) so I will be doing most of the heavy lifting. I do have an older camera but it's not HD so I may look at upgrading that as well to use for a second camera. My company trains dogs for the disabled so some of what we will be filming will be indoors and some will be outdoors. I have been looking into some higher end microphones as well.

I have also looked at the Panasonic hvx-200 as a camera, I have seen them for sale for $1250 to $1500 with extra P2 cards. I am mostly concerned that I get quality video for a DVD product since the online version will look pretty good by default.

Keep the suggestions comming, I am an eager noob.