Multicam shooting – when is the best time to cut?

Videomaker – Learn video production and editing, camera reviews Forums General Video and Film Discussion Multicam shooting – when is the best time to cut?

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      Songsmith
      Participant

I am responsible for the video recording in our church. I have recently mastered multicam shooting and editing.
      The sermon itself is reasonably straightforward and i can cut between cameras anytime I want. Apart the occasional “call and response”, applauding from the audience or when camera “A” is blocked by passersby, when are the best times to cut to give my work a natural and professional finish ? I have 3 years experience on amateur to intermediate level.
      Also please advise how I can use a similar setup during a wedding ceremony?

My multicam setup is as follows:

I use 3 cameras and are positioned in this formation

Camera A – Primary, manned,set behind audience, head and shoulder view of speaker (zoomed)
      Camera B – Secondary, unmanned, set to the left of speaker, head to toe view of speaker from his/her left
      Camera C – Secondary, unmanned, set to the far right diagonally behind speaker, full view of the audience as seen from behind the speaker

Trevor
      Participant

if you are recording the music part best thing to do is to try to cut to the beat. Aim to cut right on the beat.

As for the sermon part, you really have to just follow the pastor’s lead. If the pastor speaking to the people on the right side of the church, cut to the right side, etc.

But what you might want to do is watch some of the church services that are broadcast, like “Turning Point with Dr. David Jeremiah” or “Hour Of Power” and see how those broadcasts are cut together and that will give you some idea as to how others cut a church service together.

paulears
      Participant