Looking into 4k cameras to go with my current NX 100

liberty610's picture

Hey guys,
I'm more of a video enthusiast then I am a professional. I am currently in the market for my first 4k camera. I am not a DSLR guy, so I am looking into an actual video camera.

At the beginning of 2016, I bought the Sony NX 100 camera. I was looking for a solid run-and-gun style camera for general shooting, weddings, parties, ect. I have been pretty happy with it overall, and I really enjoy working with the files that comes from it.

Recently I have been experimenting with multiple camera shoots. The issue I have at t the moment is, the only other video camera I own besides the Nx 100 is a Sony HDR CX580 handycam. And although it does shoot HD, it of course is a consumer camera that pales in comparison to my Nx 100 camera.

I am currently looking at a secondary camera that can record higher quality footage that could been dropped into my editing timeline that looks as good as the footage from my NX100 does. I figured I would look into a 4k camera of some sort that will fit my current budget of $1500.00 to $1700.00. I have a solid custom built PC that could handle the rendering I believe. For the list of parts my PC has in it, check PC Parts Picker link below:

https://pcpartpicker.com/user/liberty610/saved/#view=G48RsY

I would like the pro features that the NX 100 has, but honestly, I end up shooting most of my events in Full Auto mode. I sometimes have planned shoots where I make use of manual focus and what not, but that's about it. I am not a professional by any means, just more of an enthusiast. I have a MKE 600 Sennheiser shotgun mic for my NX100, and a second camera with XLR wouldn't be a bad idea, although one of the current cameras I am looking at is more of a prosumer camera I think.