Long Term archives?

Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author

Currently I’m a student doing Film and TV at technical college, and as I film and produce more work, I’ve started to have a question on my mind. What is an ideal solution for long term archives of my work. Currently I’ve been placing it onto a 2 TB external hard drive, which is in turn backed up to a 5 TB drive, but I’m not quite sure this is necessarily the best option. Was hoping some people could help me out with some advice on what to do.

When a client’s production is still in the works, all of it resides on my RAID-0 array, which is backed up nightly. When a project is completed, I ‘RAR’ it to an archive drive where it sits for a couple of years, just in case I or the client needs to access the project again. By RAR’ing the project, it shrinks the overall size, making it easy to store. I’m a little protective of my projects. When an archive drive fills up, I ‘may’ delete smaller insignificant projects, but generally I just pull the drive, label it and insert a new drive. Once a project has been bumped to the archive drive, at that point I’m fairly certain that it’s a dead project. The client (or I) have the final renders, and the project has sat dormant for at least six months. I don’t backup my archive drives (as many others do). For me, the archive drive is where projects go to die. I’m just keeping a long-term copy of it ‘just in case’… Often, I’ll store really great drone, or hand-held footage on my production drive for many years (remember, this drive is backed up daily), just in case I want to include previously shot clips in a future production. But eventually, all footage ends up on an archive drive.

Don’t know if that helps… It’s just my method of storing large amounts of data over time.

Participant