Issue with Video File

Viewing 17 reply threads
  • Author

Hello guys,

I’m new to videography and am having an issue with a video interview I did. I stored the interview on my external Laice hard drive for my Macbook. When I went to access it the file was changed, the file name became a random jumble of characters and trying to open the file brought up a bunch of random looking text. There was no file extension so I added a title and .mov but that didn’t help. Does anyone have any idea what happened to the video file and is there anything I can do restore the interview? I realize its not a lot of information to go on. Thanks!

It sounds as though the file corrupted. As well, the hard drive is probably corrupt as well. After working as a net tech for 25 years, unless someone can chime in with a better answer, the file is gone. There is no restoring it.

That said…

One thing you might try is copying it to another drive (hard drive, flash drive, SD card – doesn’t matter which). “IF” it copies (if not – it’s completely corrupt), make sure the file is renamed (on the new drive) with the proper extension – same as original file (.mp4, .mts… etc.), and see if it plays. If so, copy it to a third drive as a backup.

As a side note, always and often backup your files. When I first offload video files from my camcorder, they are “immediately” backed up to a second drive before I even touch them. Then I leave them on the camcorder sd card for a while – just in case. My $0.02

Thanks for your reply Kevin.

I copied the file over to my Mac from my external hard drive no problem but when I tried to open it the same issue came up. Quick Time says “QuickTime Player can’t open “Music Hall.mov” because the movie’s file format isn’t recognized.” Premiere Pro wont open it either. Is there a program that might help restore the file?

Participant

If the file came from a camera, do you still have the card that it was originally recorded on?