Insurance Inventory Videos

Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

This is my first time posting on this forum so I'm still trying to get use to it. I've been doing a bit of videography for the past few years in local television and well as for individuals and businesses recently. In the near future I'd like to open up a shop with a colleague of mine to produce videos full time.

I've been looking into our market and it seems flooded with corporate and commercial videographers. We have a number of large retail headquarters, insurance, and high tech industries in our area in Northern New England. But we also have a strong maritime industry and a strong local economy with small business owners.

The issue for me is that we don't want to do the same thing everyone else does. We've luckily been able to do a variety of different video productions through our past work, so we're well informed and more than capable of doing most any video productions. Being the say, 11th person doing corporate video in our area wouldn't be effective, worth our while, or profitable – though of course if someone asks us to do a video for them in the corporate area we'd do it.

I've been looking into real esate videos with little luck, as well as throwing myself down the music video track, but it's not always the most profitable especially in our area.

Recently I was looking at insurance inventory videos. It's not "creative" or "interesting" to most videographers, but we're able to compensate for that with our other projects. I was wondering if anyone has heard of a videographer doing this, or heard anything in general about this niche? I think, pricing it correctly and having enough volume to profit off it. Being in an area that has a long history with insurance (property/homeowners/business) and having two insurance giants have regional and corporate headquarters in our area is a help to us.