Ideas for martial arts instructional video

Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Hi I have been dabbling in my own freelance video for about six years now and have recently made the switch to setting up a DBA and making this business my primary income.I come from a broadcast journalism background and formerly worked as a news photographer and editor at our local NBC syndicate. I have a panasonic AG-DVC7 and a Cannon HD Vixia.I edit with the Adobe CS 4 suite. My client is a sensei of a small Aikido studio (thus is a form of defensive only martial art) He wants an instructional video for students and prospective students. Aside from a set of three basic exercises  I have shot and had him  do voice over explanations for, I am kind of stuck as to what else to include. Has anyone else done any similar work or have any ideas for me?

Participant

What is your client's vision of the end product?

Participant

He is very open ended on the end product, which is why I am having difficulties as I am not very familiar with Aikido myself.  We have shot the basic movements which all the exercises are based off of, about three 5 minute segments. I may have the sensei do a short monologue before each, givingg an introduction. It is to be used as a training tool for students. Most of the class time is informal with a lot of peer discussion. I have shot two full classes to see what I could pull from it. There is a lot of focus and discussion on the philosophy and a lot of partner work. I would like to pull a few of these shorter lecture tidbits out for use as a promo of some kind. Because the art is based on the randomness of attack, specific "drills" aren't done, instead focus is placed on the ability ot react. We have also talked about building a library of short clips for his website of specific movements.

Participant