i5/i7 – recommended hardware – confusion

Videomaker – Learn video production and editing, camera reviews Forums Technique Editing i5/i7 – recommended hardware – confusion

Viewing 1 reply thread
  • Author

Hey guys, I am all about building a pc for video editing and choosing the right software for me. I am not a professional. I just want to make some nice memories of some nice events. Some of them are sport events so I want to use multi-cam, e. g. split screen.

I used a PCMag list of best video editing software for 2018. as a startpoint:
      https://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2397215,00.asp .

I saw there that Adobe Premiere Elements, Filmora and Nero Video don`t have multicam option and decided not to buy any of them.

Since I am not Mac user I will not buy Final Cut nor iMovie.

Adobe Premiere Pro is not a good solution for me since there is no one time payment option but only a yearly subscription. I really don`t want to pay it all the time.

So, my choice of software is reduced to the following list:

1. Corel Video Studio Ultimate

2. Cyberlink Power Director

3. Pinnacle Studio Ultimate

4. Magix Movie Edit Pro Premium

I am now confused with hardware requirements described on the official sites of these software.

You see, it is written for Corel Video Studio Ultimate that I should use i7 for multi-camera:

https://www.videostudiopro.com/en/products/videostudio/ultimate/#system-requirements

Exactly the same thing is written for Pinnacle Studio:

https://www.pinnaclesys.com/en/products/studio/#system-requirements

*The confusing thing is the fact that i7 CPUs are not always faster than i5 CPUs, nor they always have more cores. So, why they wrote that i7s are better for multicam than i5? Is there any other important CPU feature that is present in i7s and not present in i5s?

**Even funnier information could be found on Cyberlink site. It is written that any CPU from Intel i-series could be used for that software.