How would you approach this project? Outdoor guitar performance videos

Videomaker – Learn video production and editing, camera reviews Forums General Video and Film Discussion How would you approach this project? Outdoor guitar performance videos

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author

Hi,

I am a guitarist who finds himself getting enticed into the video world… I want to do a series of performance videos with a cinematic effect. For instance, I play some dramatic stuff, like Bach, Beethoven, Paganini. Especially with Beethoven, I want the videos to be dramatic. Not just me sitting and playing in a continuous take. So I imagine a lot of camera movement. I am moving to Montenegro so I can spend a few years on these projects and live cheaply in a beautiful place. So I picture myself outside, by the sea, on a cliff perhaps. I picture lots of motion of the camera, pivoting around me, pausing to show me playing, and then moving backwards, then upwards, then up and away in an arc that then shows from above me sitting there, dwarfed by the landscape. Maybe that can be done with a gimbal system on a jib? Or better yet, drone…

I also picture cutting from scenes of me playing to scenes that tell a story. For instance, with Moonlight Sonata it is about loss, pain of not being with the girl he wanted to be with. So maybe some nightime scenes, maybe even on a boat, or seaside cafe. Scenes of a girl leaving (maybe I will just have my girlfriend play the part:-)), upset, and then the guy, angry. Maybe scenes of someone running off (so will need to track moving characters…). And flashbacks to happy scenes coinciding with the brighter musical parts of the piece.