How much should I charge?

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      mturdanes

I’m a TV student who currently a freelance photographer and videographer.

I was wondering how much should I charge for photos on its own and videos on its own, also the price if it comes to be both.

Here are some of my work of videos:
      https://www.youtube.com/user/pRiNzmHeLiFiNo

and here are the photos:
      https://www.facebook.com/MMTurdanes/

My Gear:
      Canon 700D
      18-55mm Lens
      50mm prime lens
      75-300mm zoom lens
      Manfrotto Tripod
      8 batteries
      Rode microphone with rycote mount suspension
      Steadycam 60cm
      64 GB Lexar Professional

Editor:
      Premiere Pro for videos

For Photo:
      Photoshop CS6
      Lightroom

paulears
      Participant

I doubt we can comment – not knowing where you are? We have some cars with Irish registration numbers, indian restaurants and people in authentic foreign dress? Your Facebook page doesn;t have any details either.

JackWolcott
      Participant

Your charges should be based on your costs. This includes all your overhead — e.g., insurance, travel costs, amortization of your equipment, etc., — plus a salary for yourself and a profit for your business so you can repair and upgrade your gear. Add 20-40% to that for contingencies and you’ve got a reasonable pricing scale. There really isn’t any other way that I’ve found to arrive at an answer to your question.

Kevin Mc