Help!! DSLR or Camcorder

Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author

I am a noob hobby videographer now realizing that what I am asking my Canon HV30 to do is like asking Hilary and Donald to just make nice and be friends. I do hype films for my high school kids sporting events, agricultural equipment marketing videos for work, and I will be getting paid this winter to do snowmobile action marketing videos so I really need to find a camera that will be able to do what I need. If I want to stay married, I can only spend around $1000. I need a high frame rate camera to do silky slow motion and most likely with extreme zoom and in low light situations such as a high school football game. Tough task, I know but that is my task at hand. I realize that DSLR cameras are set up to handle the optical zoom situations but they always feel clunky and counter intuitive to me fast action, large playing field situations like a football game. I am always ruining shots with blurry manual focus so I am thinking camcorder just because they are easier to use. Any thoughts out there?

I too recently switched to DSLR from a Sony SD Camcorder. I bought a used Canon 60D and even though it’s not the best one out there, the price was right. I bought mine (With a kit lens) for around $500 (If I Remember correctly). That left enough left over to buy some lens/accessories. Camcorders can get pricey.

Participant