Help a student get a start!

Viewing 8 reply threads
  • Author

I recenlty just got finished writing several creative writing and creative thinking for screen assignments,circumstances lead me to be at the same school where, this semester, I was going to learnon how to applythese projects to screenand have free use of their equipment. However I am still eager to make the jump from writing to film-making on these projects. I am looking for advice on my total needs from equipment to software. I am ready to spend the money, but obviously am looking for the best deal also. I am a novice film maker, but a fast learner.

My first few projects are Documentaries, one which might require some gurellia style night filming.
      Ill also be filming concert footage of local bands and some short films.

I have been looking at these cameras at local stores/online sales

Canon XL2
      Canon GL2
      Sony HDR-FX1
      Canon XL1

Also saw the Panasonic AG-DVC20 at some really good looking prices.

Im looking for suggestions on camera, either form this list or any other cameras. Also what is the importance of jumping to HD for a beginer to film making? I understand that HD is also harder to edit?

My first project is a documentary on a local football team. So a good deal of that my filing will be of sports footage from the field.

I am also looking for the best pro-software for film editing is that wont be too foregin to me when I get editing. Have been thinking of purchasing SonyVegas’s latest installment. However I have a while to mull around ideas for the editing software, the camera is something I need to purchase rather soon.

Any help would be highly appreciated.

Participant

If you’re going to be shooting in low light, the Sony PD170 or VX2100 would be ideal. I’d stay away from the FX1 because it’s HDV and the HDV format is buggy and you don’t need HD right now anyway.

“I understand that HD is also harder to edit?”