Good video lens for a GH3?

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author

Howdy folks.

I am completely new to the whole "choosing a lens" thing, so any help here would be appreciated.

I'll be shooting mostly classical music concerts, where adding lights won't be an option and ambient lighting is often less-than desirable.

So what I think I need is a fast lens (<f2.8) that also has the ability to zoom a bit (I might have to set up farther away and/or closer than I'd like sometimes). I understand that primes are cheaper and in some cases better, but I think I need this versatility since it won't always be possible for me to setup where I need to be just for the sake of the shot. Images should be sharp and clear. Autofocus is probably a must.

I''m willing to drop a little bit of money on this, so somewhere in the $1k to $1.5k range wouldn't make me blush, as long as it's worth the investment. Cheaper is better of course, but if I can keep the total cost of the camera under $3k, that would be grand.

Thanks!

Participant

12-35 and the 35-100 are F2.8 continuous. Killer combo. Only thing I'd add to that is a Rokinon 7.5mm for some crazy fish-eye. 

🙂

Mike WilhelmMike Wilhelm
      Keymaster

We wrote a buyers guide on this a few months back you should check out. More specificlly, take a look at our lens comparison grid (PDF).

Hope this helps!

Hi – as recommended above, the $1399 Panasonic 35-100 f2.8 is probably your best bet.  If you want to save a little money, you can get one for $1316 used at Amazon Warehouse Deals or new for $1201 from Japan through Amazon.

The tight shots in this classical concert video were recorded with the GH3 and the 35-100mm lens (please watch at 1080p):

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zW8HlgC-oKc