General help

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author

Noob here getting into videography so I have so many questions that it is overwhelming. My projects right now consist of marketing videos for agricultural equipment that I sell, sport hype videos of my kids, and I will be getting paid to do some action sport films of back country snowmobiling in Idaho, Montana, and Wyoming. That said, here is the equipment that I currently own:
      ~ DJI Phantom 3 Standard
      ~ DJI Osmo Mobile with an iPhone 7 Plus
      ~ Nikon D3300
      ~ Canon HV30

Some of the issues that I am seeing is that I use Power Director 14 for post production. With so many different frame rates, lighting differences, pace of action, etc… my final product is decent but it is off color, jittery, and overall just amateur looking. How do you make buttery smooth low light slow motion film? Any suggestions for my equipment, editing software, ect??? Should I stick with it or find another hobby…like crocheting blankets?

Hi ttmallory,
      It sounds like your main issue with the jitters is the fact that, while the D3300 can shoot progressive video, the HV30’s video is interlaced. Usually, when you try to re-render interlaced video into progressive, it just looks bad. My recommendation, especially for this age, is to only shoot in progressive. Interlaced video is the bastard child of old technology. Everything now is progressive. If you were to try and upload interlaced video to YouTube, YouTube would reprocess it into progressive, and thus make it look bad. Always shoot progressive.