funny lines from my LED light

Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author

I am new to filmmaking and am attempting to teach myself the basics using as much DIY gear as possible.

One site I visited suggested using a Husky task light from Home Depot for beginner lighting rigs.  Picked one up for $50, as best as I can tell it's 30w, 120 volts, 60 HZ and 1500 lumens.  I set my DSLR on Aperture priority to do some practice shoots and I have two black horizontal lines that scroll from bottom to top on my display screen.  What the heck is going on?  When I set camera to shutter priority they disappear.  When I turn this light off they disappear.

Can anyone explain to me what is going on?  Any solutions to how I get rid of this and still be able to shoot in aperture priority.

thanks for your help.

Rob

RockyRocky
      Participant

Rob, what you are describing sounds like 60cps hum on the video, you can confirm this, by checking, out the TV screen effect in first thirty seconds of a YouTube video titled "Ground Loops and Hum" by TheOnLineEngineer.  Most probable cause is no or poor AC filter circuit in the Husky light (Flouresent lights habitually cause the problem). This can normally be eliminated with a 60cps in line AC filter (sometimes found in multi outlet powerboards). To avoid the problem altogether suggest a 192 (or greater) LED on camera mount battery opertaed light with almost the same specs as Husky (1500 lumen v 1350 lumen). Total cost should be less than US$50 and it comes with additional features for video/photography. Trust this assists.

Participant