First Demo Reel

Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      Charles
      Participant

Boys and Girls, check out my first demo reel and let me know what you think. I have never done one of these before so input is vital. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BoGH_VsaegE

Mike Wilhelm
      Keymaster

In order to give good feedback, we'll need to know what the goal of the demo is. Are you trying to gain new clients for a business or get a job working for a production company? If the latter, what skill are you trying to highlight?

chuckzootz
      Participant

You also have footage with people speaking but your music doesn't allow the voices to be heard,

Watch some ads, notice that dialogue is an important part of advertising. You seem to shoot well, but you dont show any audio skiils when you just lay in a music track consitantly under each scene with no music change when the sceen changes. why not change the sound, add in some voices re upload this video. 

Charles
      Participant

I am trying to gain new clients.

JackWolcott
      Participant

I'm neither a "boy" nor a "girl" but I guess it's o.k. for me to critique your reel nevertheless.

On the plus side, you have good strong images, mostly well lit and well shot.

You say you want to "gain new clients." Lets think a little about "new clients." People come to your web site because they are looking for something: a musician who wants to make an MTV; a book shop owner who wants to promote her shop; a printer who wants people to know about his business. When they get to your web site they want to click on a link and have the necessary information pop up, an answer to their question "can you make a book shop promo for me?" for example. I read recently that the average linger time on a site is about 30 seconds. If viewers haven't seen what they're looking for in that time they're off to another site.