Filming A Wedding, Need Advice!

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Hi so I will more then likely be filming a wedding this August. Should I invest in a ZOOMh4n or some XLR audio recorder to get a feed directly from the DJ  for sound? As well I know most use XLR should I bring an XLR splitter with me if I go? and should I bring an XLR cable? or would it more likely a 3.5mm jack over XLR that they would use?  So many questions about this. As well I have a shotgun mic will this work for the wedding? this is my first time shooting a wedding any suggestions for Wedding videography? I know to capture the important stuff like the kiss and what not but im just a little worried about stuff specfially where do you film from. Is it acceptable to be infront of the bridge and groom when they walk down the isle shooting video? or should I do that else where? also when they do their vows where should I be shooting from? 

Hi Wes – I think Griffin Hammond's video from last year when he was working at IndyMogul will answer most of your questions:

If you need a more comprehensive treatment of the subject, you might want to invest in a book such as "Wedding Videography: Start to Finish" that you can refer to as you build your wedding business, 

One thing – the older H4N has noisy preamps and is currently being replaced by the brand new $270 Zoom H5.  If you get an external recorder, that's the one you should go for.  Great B&H review of this recorder here:

Hope this is helpful and good luck!

Bill

Hybrid Camera Revolution

Participant