Fall Foliage From PA

jpenn's picture

This is some footage I shot with a Canon XF300 just before Hurricane Sandy came through here. I'm a noob at this so I hope it's not "Fail Foliage". Let me know what you think.

JP 

theonecanoe's picture

Interesting,  Being a fan of Canon products I'm really surprised at how dull the original footage looked.  Canon usually does a superb job of capturing acurate colous at least when I do a manual white balance.  What white balance settings did you use on the original shot?

-Wayne-

Mike Wilhelm's picture
Administrator Plus Member Plus Member

It might have looked dull because it was juxtaposed right next to footage that's so highly saturated.

Flat looking footage is pretty common, even in higher end cameras. If you've seen the test footage that's come out of the Blackmagic camera, it looks pretty dull. The beauty lies in the amount of color data that's there, but that's undetectable until graded.

Nice video!

--
Mike Wilhelm

Videomaker's Editor-in-Chief

Jack Wolcott's picture
Plus Member

You've obviously gotten a good handle on using the primary and secondary color correction tools.

Did you start out by adjusting levels (this relates to Wayne's question regarding white balance.)

I suspect that working with levels and a waveform monitor would "pop" some of the original color without having to resort to these tools.

For me, the "corrected" portion comes down to a question of taste. I'd characterize the effect as looking like The Wizard of Oz -- heavily saturated, Technicolor, not quite believable as "real" color.

This may be the effect you were going for; if so, you've done a good job. If, on the other hand, you want me to accept this as though I were there, it's a bit too heavy-handed for my taste, a little too obviously manipulated in post.

jpenn's picture

Thanks for the comments:

First a little about me;