Equipment suggestions for starting Production Company.

AndyG11's picture

Hi,

I've been a videographer for the past 6 years, shooting mainly with my GH4, some LED lights, and an H4N for sound. I've shot mostly short films, music videos and web series. I just came into some money and my wife and I have decided that we are stable enough with our jobs that this is the time for me to finally take that money and start up my own production company that will be a side job for now and that with a lot of hard work could one day become a full time job.

I have been writing, shooting and editing so I can do most things by myself, but also know gaffers, grips, ACs, etc, that I can hire for specific jobs should the need arise.

As I said I have some LED lights, some stands, sandbags, Zoom H4N. I also have a brand new editing system with both Adobe suite, AVID and Pro Tool.

I am looking for suggestions from others who maybe have their own companies or gear that can give me ideas on how they would use $20,000 (US) to start a production company. I will be looking for about any kind of work to start with but will be looking for more narrative/creative work like music videos, short films, etc, but would also like to be capable of picking up corporate work, weddings or creating branded content as well.

A solid camera package will likely take up most of that as the two cameras I have been researching the most are FS7 II and the BM Ursa 4.6k. I know that by the time I purchase the body, a couple cine lenses, tripod, batteries, cards, rails, follow focus, matte box, I am looking at around $15k on the camera alone. That would leave about $5k for more lights, a boom and mic, and extra grip gear.