Equipment for group recording

Viewing 1 reply thread
  • Author

Hi Everyone,

Before I post my question, I should state that I am a bit of a newbie and my experience with recording is a bit limited. I have done some research but felt it a good idea to also ask for some opinions as my requirements are fairly specific. I have done recording on podcasts before but that was audio only, not video as well.

So basically me and some friends would like to do some YouTube video recordings of us playing games (card/board games).

I wanted to know whether we could use a single microphone without losing to much audio quality? If so which ones would you recommend for someone on a sensible budget? I was kind of hoping to situate the microphone off camera completely, either hosted above or next to the camera and have it pick up everyone (maximum 5 people), sat around the table.

I don’t want to use a mic per person as it will get in the way and wireless lapel mics look far to expensive for us. The rooms will be isolated so background noise shouldn’t be an issue, but I cant be confident on the acoustics of the room but I am hoping it should be good enough to record some solid audio.

I hope the information I have provided is enough for some advice to be given, let me know if there is anything else that you need from me :).

Regards.

Chris

Participant