edit old video material

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      Anonymous
      Inactive

hi to all,

i have to edit a number of old videos for a local charity club and please i wish to have your advice and/or your comments if my approach is right

please, let me first tell you that my primary job is a sound enginner but i have some experience with video edits and rendering since i create music (electronic) for short movies and documentaries

i have sony vegas 5 and dvd architect 4

some of those videos are uploaded on yutube while many others are on vhs cassettes (pal)

first of all i have to download from youtube the videos as avi at the max allowed quality

color correction – primary
      rgb to studio monitor
      brightness and contrast adjust if necessary
      sound – noise gate and compressing
      max sound level between -6 to -2.5 db’s (dbsf) scale
      rendering to mpg2 with max bit rate 4750 kbps with acc3 stereo sound

many thanks in advance

paulears
      Participant

I suspect you won’t want to compress them at all – because the old VHS machines had pretty savage agc on the recorders, so squashing it a bit more might make it worse. Expect to have to do so cropping and stretching as so many old VHS tapes have the picture disturbance at the bottom where the head switching timing is a bit off – and a slight zoom in might be needed. If they need to look the same, then it will be a bit of tweaking and adjustment, with some sound level adjustments between clips if recorded on different machines. One thing that might throw you is if the replay VHS has FM sound and some of the tapes are older and have longitudinal sound tracks – which are much worse quality wise with a quite low top limit and often plenty of wow and flutter. I’ve never had much luck cleaning those up at all.

JackWolcott
      Participant