DSLR + Mic + Lenses for Short Docs? $2K-$3K Budget

Videomaker – Learn video production and editing, camera reviews Forums Cameras and Camcorders DSLR’s DSLR + Mic + Lenses for Short Docs? $2K-$3K Budget

Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

I'm an editor looking into making my own shorts — mostly short docs that would involve a lot of run & gun filming.  I'm interested in a DSLR for the image quality, though I know this will mean more $$ on audio equipment.  

What DSLR camera body do y'all recommend for a $2K/$3K total budget (possibly could go up to $4K… if beyond that seems like the best idea, I am willing to take time to save), and is the Canon EOS 60D "good enough" (if I am considering submitting my work to festivals)?

For audio, it seems like I'll be spending at least $500 on gear — I'm thinking TASCAM DR-60D, Sennheiser MKE 600 shotgun mic — and probably around $1000 on lenses?  I'd like to have f-stop range of f/1.3 to f/22.  So factoring that in I have about $1500 to spend just on the camera body right now.

Any and all advice very much appreciated, thanks!!

For about $800, you can get a Panasonic GH3 body.  Technically, it's mirrorless, not a DSLR, but the function is the same.  If you're willing to stretch a little further than your $1500 for the camera body, you can get a GH4.  All of the goodness that is in the GH3, plus the ability to shoot 4K video.

If you need something that works well in low light, the Sony A7s is a good camera.  Again, mirrorless, but functions like a DSLR.  And it has a full frame sensor.  You might need to save up for this one, though.

Hi Erin – I own the GH3 and GH4 – and they are great cameras – but for run and gun I recommend a camcorder.