Complete beginner in need of a few pointers!

Videomaker – Learn video production and editing, camera reviews Forums Technique Sound Complete beginner in need of a few pointers!

Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author

Hi Everyone,
      I was wondering if you could help me out here? Im an actor and along with my best mate and our lovely director we are trying experiment with some filming. We’re together next week. We have borrowed 2 cameras one is a Sony HVR-V1E

http://www.sony.co.uk/pro/product/broadcast-products-camcorders-hdv-dvcam/hvr-v1e/overview/

And the other one Im not sure what it is as yet. We need some advice on sound. The set up will be us 2 woman in front of camera and our director doing all the filming!-we MIGHT be able to get another person to help but best to presume we won’t. We will be using my flat as our set, we will be improvising so won’t necessarily have defined shots or set ups, more of a fluid set up. We will obviously find out what works as we go. Other equipment includes working lamp and gels (blue and white), 2 quite new Macbook Airs which we are hoping to do edit on in iMovie. The sound on the camera’s aren’t great. What would you advise in terms of sound set up for this kind of project?

Hoping you an give me some pointers πŸ˜‰
      Thanks
      Lisa

Participant

Best sound would be from a lavaliere mic on each actor, one input to camera Channel 1, the other to Channel 2. That will give you control in the edit and provide good clean sound. In a small flat you might possibly get by with a good shotgun mic on the camera, but the lavs will be ever so much better.