Classroom Filming w/ Less Than Ideal Lighting

Viewing 9 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Hi There… This is my first post, I just signed up for this website in hopes of learning some things and getting some tips which might help improve my job performance. My background is through web development, so I am by no means a professional videographer. My only experience has come through filming and editing skateboard videos which is usually pretty easy.

Recently I have been given the task of filming Chemistry classroom sessions at a university for the purposes of using the material online as a reference for participating students. The challenge here is that the lighting in the room is less than ideal. The overhead/board lights are somewhat dim, and there isn't a source of natural light anywhere in the room.

Additionally, instructors bounce between using the whiteboard and showing PowerPoint presentations with the projector. This is a challenge because the projector screen is a huge source of light in the shot. Everything else in the is very dark when the projector is on, and often times discolored, with shots coming out darker and with a bit of a red tone.

I am wondering what (if anything) I can do to make the picture a little more clear. I am using manual focus, manual exposure (almost maxed out, but I don't want to overdo it as the projector needs to be readable), and manual white balance although the settings on my camera are somewhat limited. I am using a Sony HVR-A1U recording at 1080i.

I have the shutter speed set to auto, and I am wondering if changing this setting will accomplish anything. I would like to experiment more, but I have very little setup time – Just a 5-10 minute window between classes.

Anyways, if anyone is interested, here is a link to one of the videos (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cycp6PQSCqs). Any comments or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thank you very much for reading.

Participant