Canon XA-20 vs. XF100 low light

Viewing 10 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Preface: I'm a noob.

So, after doing lots of research in looking for the  right camera for me, I've found the Canon XA-20 to fit the bill. I noticed though that XF100 is also about the same price. Both cameras seem VERY similar (to my untrained mind) and when I check out low light tests for both cameras, the XA-20 seems to do a better job IMO. 

That being said, I'd like to get the opinion of people who have experience with either of these cameras or who know what they're talking about unlike me. 

Low light is my biggest concern. Specifically, shooting indoors. 

My question when it comes to cameras is the sensor. I have a small idea as to what to what they do and what to look for, but still a bit in the dark. I don't know if the question I'm about to ask is really as cut and dry as I'm making it out to be: The XF100 has a 1/3 inch CMOS sensor, and the XA-20 has 1/2.84 inch CMOS sensor. (from the canon site) Would I be correct in saying the XA-20 has the larger sensor, therefor better for low light?

Participant

I just turned up to ask the very same question, looking to record theatre and stage shows with either XA20 or XF100 , so advice from those with experience of both units would be appreciated 🙂

Jay

Participant

Good to hear this question will help someone else 🙂

Participant

Jay: From the low light test videos I've seen, the XA20 looks much better than XF100. Less artifacts and what not. But expert advice is alway good. Hence this post.

Participant

The big difference I would like to point out here is the codec. The xf100 uses an mpeg codec with a 4:2:2 color space as opposed to the 4:2:0 color space of the XA20.

The XA100 footage will give you a lot more leeway in post production. Granted, you'll need an editing program and computer that can handle the 50 mbs stream. You may be surprised what a little grading in post can do for otherwise dark and muddy video.