Canon C100 Grain

Viewing 8 reply threads
  • Author
      jbanzhoff

Good afternoon!
      I’m new to the forum and just stumbled upon this while trying to google this topic. I’m a videographer for Lifehouse Church in Hagerstown, MD. We’ve just upgraded to a C100. I was using a 60D until the purchase. These settings are incredibly different. I did some testing and captured some footage this weekend at our 2 campuses. I’m a perfectionist when it comes to my footage and don’t like any grain at all. In my lowlight footage it’s got a considerable amount of grain as well as some grain and distortion in my normal light. My first initial thought was it was due to the 24-105 minimum 4.0. When reading and researching some said that F Stop shouldn’t make too much of a difference. Has anyone used the C100 and found a 2.8 to be much better? Thanks!

theonecanoe
      Participant

Although I’ve never used a Canon C100, I can say that the size of the lens and the maximum f-stop has nothing to do with directly adding unwanted grain. The grain is a result of increasing the electronic sensitivity of the camera’s imaging device. Check the camera’s ‘gain’ selector or ‘ISO’ setting. When you boost these settings to a higher level, you are able to shoot in lower light situations but at the cost of increased grain. True, a faster lens means you won’t have to boost the gain as much, but the lens itself does not add grain. Perhaps the camera is on auto and is boosting the gain by itself…try switching to manual and turn the gain right down. Adding additional lighting can make a huge difference. My motto…”When in doubt, light it!”

Mike Wilhelm
      Keymaster

First place to look is definitely ISO. If you can shoot at 320, your footage should be super clean.

jbanzhoff