Camera Recommendations for Stimulus Recordings

Viewing 1 reply thread
  • Author
      shatha01
      Participant

Hi all,

I'm a graduate student who conducts research in audiovisual speech perception. I record my own stimuli for my experiments, and I'm currently doing projects related specifically to visual mouth movements and manipulating their duration–but since we currently record with a 29.97 fps camera, manipulating duration is a challenge because there aren't a lot of frames to work with during speech articulation. I'm looking to upgrade our current video camera (a Panasonic AG-HMC70P) to a camera that can record at higher frame rates so that we have more flexibility with our manipulations without severely degrading the quality of the video.

Since I'm very much a novice when it comes to purchasing video cameras, I'm not 100% sure what will be the best option for an upgrade, but I do know a few features that I'm definitely looking for, and a few models I've been considering.

1. Recording at 59.94 fps in 1080p, if possible (720p would also be acceptable if necessary). The capaciy to record at variable frame rates would be a plus.

2. XLR output, since we use one of our lab's external microphones to record the voice

3. High image quality, since mouth movements are relatively small and we want them to be as clear as possible

To give you an idea of the set-up, we record in a sound-attenuated, dark room using studio lights and a black backdrop. The speaker is seated behind a table with the microphone on top, and we record the audio simultaneously with the video using the XLR. The camera is set up on a tripod and trained on just her face.