Camera for Martial Arts video

Viewing 8 reply threads
  • Author
      blackwolf
      Participant

Hello,

I am about to start my video business, focusing on producing Martial Arts instructional DVDs, so I will need to buy a camcorder – I have no experience with pro/ semi-pro camcorders, so its a little hard for me to pick the right one, and my budget for it – about $2000 is too much to spend on something that wont work as I expect it to. Unfortunately I live on the end of the world (Yukon) and dont have access to video shop where I could try out different cameras.

The one thing that I really didnt like when working with non-professional cameras was automatic focus – with all the movements of martial arts videos is definatelly essential to have manual focus (and I would like to have zoom and iris manual too, just to have more control over the video)

As for now I chose JVC  GY-HM150U, but please let me know of other alternatives. 

Thank you πŸ™‚ 

Mark
      Participant

I use the GY-HM100U for the same thing and love it.

720p 60fps 

I think the GY-HM150U is a great choice 

http://www.youtube.com/user/ShihanmarkFilms?feature=watch

Mark
      Participant

Also Check out Rick Young's 13 videos on how to set it up!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3TiKK4ePKnQ

Charles
      Participant

Whatever camera you get make sure it has CCD sensors instead of CMOS. With a CMOS sensor you would wind up with some pretty bad footage with the fast motion.

Charles
      Participant

There is a good article on VM that talks about the differences between the sensors. http://www.videomaker.com/article/14183  Make sure you read the section on Rolling Shutter, Smearing CCD. 

Mark
      Participant

You won't have to worry about the rolling shutter you get with a DSLR if you go with the GY-HM150U.

Also if you shoot in .mov you can drop the files directly into Adobe Premiere or Final Cut and just start editing, no need to covert them to another format. That is a huge time saver.