Camera aiming using object tracking

Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Hey guys,

I’m an amateur film-maker and robotics graduate student in Waterloo, Canada and I’ve recently been playing around with new and interesting tools for camera motion control. I’ve used the new DJI Ronin handheld stabilizer gimbal, built a camera dolly rig using an RC car as well as used a drone to film a couple of sweeping shots of an object in a field.

I quickly realized that it’s actually pretty difficult to control the camera while simultaneously running around with a handheld unit, driving the motorized dolly or flying the drone in the air. Anyway, so I’m a roboticist and hacked together this working prototype that uses the video stream to track anything I want, using computer vision algorithms.

Here’s a quick youtube video to show what I mean:

So far, I programmed in smooth-motion and the ability to track and frame anything I select in a box. In the future I am going to make an android/ipad app so that you can just multi-touch define a subject with 2 fingers.
      After looking into the control interfaces for most of these gimbals and motorized tripod heads I’m pretty sure I can make them follow my commands, in addition to commanding the motion paths of the drone or rc car itself to follow something (ie. a bike, animal, car etc.)

I was just wondering if anyone out there would also interested in this tech? It’s easy enough for me to make and share, and any feedback on cool ideas to implement would be great

Cheers,
      Neil

Participant

Incredible.  This could be to the hand held gimbal what the hand held gimbal was to the steadycam.  A game changer.  If this could also be setup as an aide to the gimbal operator that would be pretty slick as well. 

Participant

You need a post a video of the camera operating as you do the movement.