Camera Advice – Looking for Versatility

Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Hi all,

I'm a freelance multimedia producer who specializes primarily in the training / educational space. Recently, more and more of my clients are asking me to shoot video content for them. A little background – I have a lot of experience with editing, motion graphics, compositing and visual design, but not so much on the videography (or photography) end of the spectrum – I've been learning as I go. I have shot videos a number of times, but it's either been with a video camera supplied to me by an employer or using my own low-end (and now archaic) tape-based Canon consumer camcorder.

This is an area I am committed to becoming more proficient in, as it's a growing part of what my clients are requesting of me (and therefore a growing part of my business), and so I have a fairly immediate and real need to upgrade to a professional (or at least semi-pro) camera for shooting video going forward. I'm a one-man band, so quick setup, breakdown and easy transport are important to me. I edit using FCP X on a Mac Pro workstation outfitted with AfterEffects, Maya and other image editing, compression and graphics software.

The types of shooting situations I have to deal with are as follows:

1 – 1-2 on-camera talent speaking directly to camera waist-up or medium close-up on infinite white background.

2 – Shots portraying interior classrooms / equipment / facilities, typically in low and/or existing light. I have very little time for these shots, since I am only allowed to shoot during class breaks during business hours (15 minutes tops). Sometimes I'm able to quickly get a light or two into place, but not always.

3 – Building and landscape exteriors in natural sunlight – outdoor beauty shots, essentially.