Camcorder for Moving Subjects

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author

After doing a LOT of looking around on B&H, most of the camcorders on my short list are in the "pro" category, so I posted in this forum, however, I really want to keep it under $3k.   I have extensive experience in still photography, but am new to videography (have used consumer level video).

I need a camcorder for moving subjects — brisk walk, 15mph, and around 25mph — outdoors and indoors.  Must have great autofocus, good image stabilizer, 30p/60p (wouldn't mind 24p, as well), and some type of external access to basic manual controls (NOT going through menus!). 

One the "nice to have list" would be built-in ND filters, handle, XLR input, and 4k video.

Two of the new JVC camcorders coming out soon, GY HM170 and GY HM200, seem to have a lot of bang for the buck.  The specs look as though they would fit in quite well with what I want to do. 

In general, does JVC produce good video equipment??   In articles and reviews, JVC is not talked about as much as Canon, Sony, and Panasonic.  Is that because they just are not as popular, or they are not as good as those brands?? 

Any brand/model recommendations??  My ears are completely open, and I appreciate any and all help!!! 

Thank you very much πŸ™‚

Hi Roget – your list of features sounds like you're describing the new $2299 Sony PXW-X70.

It has a 1" sensor, eight times larger than a traditional 1/3" camcorder sensor – plus it has HD-SDI out (in addition to HDMI), built-in NDs, dual media slots, XLR mic inputs and readiness for 4K with a paid upgrade that will be available early this year.

And the X70's amazing optical steady shot system makes for very stable handheld shots.

Walking shots in this travel piece are an example of what the X70 can do:

Here it is intercut with the GH4 in an indoor single musician live performance:

It's also a good exterior B roll camera, as seen here: