Best studio camera for DIY home studio

Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Hello All:

I have decided to produce my own lecture videos. I am a professor lecturing in all classes related to psychology. Although the institution I instruct at has a studio, the hassles are enough to prompt my spending resources on my own video series.

I was in construction for many years so fabricating the surrounds will not be a problem. In addition I have much of the attendent software (e.g., CS 4 production).

What I require is help buying a used studio video camera. For instance, sony's HVR-Z7U. Although the camera is within my budget I have failed to find specific information related to alternatives. I am not wedded to any specific camera and name the above due to remembering it. I believe it gives a range of the budget I have for my purchase used. This camera is less than 2500 USD, the upper budget limit. What used cameras for a quality production DIY studio would you fellows and gals recommend/consider?

Thanks,

Jon

Participant

The 'best' camera you can get for in home studio is one that has a mic input…that's where to start.

The rest of your budget is related to 'it depends on what your are doing.'

The less expensive camcorders are optimized for daylight,  so if you have a lighting kit you can use a less expensive camera effectively.  However, if you are using a green screen (can't think why for psychology) a more expensive type of camera will give you a better 'key.'

If you are doing close ups, low light, bright light, high contrast, fast action, anything other than standing there and talking, you'll need a more flexible (read that as more expensive) camera.