another which camera?

Viewing 12 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Hello all,

I'm a newbie and am hoping to get some responses for my quest. I'm a photojournalist and my paper is looking to buy our first video camera. Of course our budget is low ($1000. range). The video's we plan on producing will be news, features and documentary. It would be great if we had the capability to also produce short (lower end) advertisements as well. I also realize we will have to budget for audio as well (not included in camera budget). Considering I know absolutely nothing about video cameras any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

This is a joke, right? Who came up with the $ 1000 budget?   Rick Crampton

Hi Xkalifornian, 

There is a lot you can do for 1,000 especially when starting out. I actually used a soney HD cam probebly $700.00 off the shelf today and pulled some footage from it (adjusted the ISO for light) and it was great.  Yes we use insane cameras that cost the price of a new BMW but sometimes the simplist things work in the condition you keep your footage at HD when working in your software. 

Adjust the camera to to the light and having some light available always helps. There is a lot to choose from for 1k, 

The good news is they will all give you film to edit, the question is how long will you work on the footage to make it look good or better or to what your end use is. 

Hows this for thought, you make a production with a very expensive camera and crew, then you make it look old and grainy, should have jjust used your someone elses I phone I chucked mine years ago…!

The bottom line, make sure it records HD @ 1920 x 1080. If the zoom is not that powerful get yourself on a skate board.

One PLUS factor, if you have a jack to add your own microphone (instead of built in mic) will save you a lot for sound editing and help you better manage your documenturies.

Hope this helps.

G

Participant