Advice to get either AG-HMC80 or HXR-NX30

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Hi guys, I'm new to all this video production stuff but our church is trying to get some camcorders to start a tv ministry, after lots of research we've come down to this two options for camcorders (Panasonic AG-HMC80 or Sony HXR-NX30), our goal is to broadcast live on internet, to record our services for editing them later and distribute them, and to do IMAG as well… We're thinking in using this cameras with a ATEM 1 switcher but we haven't decide which one would be a better option for these purposes… I would really appreciate your advice, THANKS…

Participant

Hi Joel,

Your two camera choices are very different from one another. First, the Panasonic HMC80 is the same as an HMC40, simply put into a shoulder-mount form factor. This camera is a couple of years old now, does not have XLR audio inputs, and the smaller HMC40 can be had for several hundred less with same quality/features but in a hand-held model.

You may want to look at the new AC90 from Panasonic, which is a much better camera for less money at $1799. Professional XLR audio connections built in, and has a phenomenal image stabilizer according to users. Also has manual lens rings for zoom, focus, iris and dual memory card slots for extended recording or backup (record to both cards at once!).

I'm a long-time Sony user, but not a fan of the very tiny camcorders, which the NX30 appears to be. Too difficult to use, hold steady, etc. And having a "projector" built in seems gimmicky.