Advice on becoming a professional sports videographer

Videomaker – Learn video production and editing, camera reviews Forums General Video and Film Discussion Advice on becoming a professional sports videographer

Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Hello everyone

I am a new poster who is seeking advice on how to become a professional sports videographer. First a little bit about me. I have been shooting sports for a few years now working for two local tv stations in Pennsylvania. I also have my own business and that is where I am looking to improve my status as a videographer. I have confidence in myself to shoot sports. However, to make some money I would definitely shoot other types of videos (in the past I have shot telthons and a small business commercial).

I would label myself not as am ametur but also not as a professional. I definitely am experienced. Sadly, I only own a palm size camcorder (Panasonic HDC-TM90) nice little camera but by no means professional. I scour craigs list and see ads for PROFESSIONAL videographers and most ask if I have my own equipment. I suppose there is no way to become professional without getting new/more gear. I know I can shoot sports from any angle but getting my business recognized/people to trust me is a daunting task. 

I have used more professional cameras like Panasonic P2, Hitachi Z-4000W and JVC GY-HM600. They are all awesome cameras but way to expensive for my taste. I was looking at the Canon A10 and was wondering if in your opinions that was professional enough to get some of these gigs? I would also consider getting a nice shotgun mic and lav mic set. But again I am a relatively poor videographer and cant afford $10,000 of gear. It is a stretch for me to even get a $1500 camera as it would have to be financed. 

I just want to know what pieces of gear (along with makes and model) that you suggest I get started with and what other pieces I can wait to buy. Any help would be GREATLY appreciated!