Advice for wedding pro camcorder

Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

hey everyone,

I’m looking into purchasing a second video camera for my wedding company. I’ve been shooting weddings for 2 years now and I’m presently shooting with a Canon XA20. I’m looking to upgrade into something better and looking to spend around 5000-6000$. I was leaning towards the sony HXR NX3 but i found out that the file formats are not that friendly with MACs ( which i edit with final cut pro X). I do not want to shoot with a DSLR. main attributes that I’m looking for is great low light capabilities since it will be mainly for wedding videography and other social events. also with 4K starting to become popular will it be worth it to possibility sped a little more and get a camera with 4K? Looking forward to seeing which cameras you guys recommend.

Thanks!

Participant

Are you unhappy with the performance of the XA20? If not, consider just buying a second one. Having two matched cameras makes editing easier because you don't have to spend so much time trying to get your results to match.

Due to budget constraints, I've shot many weddings with mismatched cameras and it has always been a frustration to me. I love shooting weddings – not so much editing them.

As for 4K… it will eventually become important, but think about the clients you are likely to have in the next couple of years. Is it important to them right now? Will you be paid more for having a 4K capable camera?

In my opinion only, (and not knowing your clients or how much you're bringing in,) I would buy another XA20 for now and save up to purchase a pair of matched 4K cameras down the road when you know the investment will pay for itself. 4K is more than just the camera – it's computer processing power, it's RAM, it's fast storage, it's the ability to deliver a product in a format your clients can use and are willing to pay the bucks for.

Participant