Achieving the bokeh look with my Canon G30

Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Hi everyone,

I've recently bought a Canon HF G30 camcorder and so far I'm loving it.  I'm a bit of a noob (hence this question) but soaking everything up like a sponge and learning quickly.

Anyway…  I want to get the bokeh look with the blurred background while shooting an interview style video.  I can achieve this using the camcorder but only when I'm zoomed in a lot, and that of course ruins the shot as I have to zoom in way too far.

I've dropped the f-stop and increased the shutter speed to try to help, but it's not really all that effective which may be because that's simply the wrong approach.  I've done a LOT of searching on the net however every darn tutorial I find relates only to DSLRs – very frustrating.  I realise that the mechanics of achieving bokeh should generally be the same, but I'm still not having any luck getting it.

Can anyone give me any pointers on how to get the bokeh look using this camcorder?

If you need any other info to help point me in the right direction just let me know.

Cheers all,

Mark