’90s film quality camcorders?

Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

Hello,

I'm looking for a camcorder that records in a certain quality. To cut the story short, I want to make short films and I want the quality and feel of the images to resemble those of a 1990's film.

Here's two scenes of very famous movies that capture the quality and atmosphere I'm talking about:

Reservoir Dogs

Pulp Fiction

Now I know both movies must have been recorded with expensive, professional cameras. But as I'm a broke student, I'm looking for a cheap alternative that will record in a similar style/atmosphere/quality.

I'm also a huge noob on camcorders, so is it just down to the camcorder or is it the lenses that produce the quality, etc?

Thanks a lot for reading this, if you have any suggestions please let me know. 

The " look " of such movies is a combination of things, not the least of which is the fact that they were shot on film . . . .  by VERY well paid DP's who have a bag of tricks up their sleeve which it's taken half-a-lifetime to perfect. Video ain't film. Lighting requirements for each is drastically different. Even the best of the best would find it challenging to make a video have a look anywhere close to the look film can produce. Since most camera manufacturers strive to make cameras which can produce bright, vivid, sharp, saturated images, it takes a lot of trickery to make them look otherwise. Lighting is the most fundamental influence on a movie's " look ". Beyond that there are other techniques such as focus, framing, dolly instead of zoom, and even lense filters.My advice would be that if you want to shoot dramatic productions, hire on to a feature crew and stick close to the camera department . . . . or buy a decent camcorder and spend a whole lotta time tinkering until you approach the look you're after.Rick Crampton