Working for free

Viewing 13 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

I’ve just moved to a large metro area and have networked with several groups, mainly artists and performers, that have opened up a great number of opportunities for video work for me. I’m a film student right now, but I’ve been doing video for around 7 years now. My dilemma is that a lot of people come to me asking me to help them out by producing a video on the grounds that it’d be good experience, build my resume, spread my name…ect. I realize that to a degree situations like that are true. I just don’t know at what point I can say “Ok, but you have to pay me.” I want to build resume and all that, but honestly I’m afraid of becoming the guy that works for free.

Any advice.

Participant

Tim, probably just about everybody on this forumhas struggled with this. You will have to gain enough confidence in yourself and your abilities as a videographer, producer etc. to feel comfortable actuallycharging for your work. This confidence may only come withsome amount of ‘free’ work. Maybe the best way to make this transition is to set some goals for yourself. Tell yourself that you will shoot ‘x’ amount of interviews or events or video resumes for actor etc.before you begin to charge for this work. Stick to your schedule and announce when you reach ‘x + 1’ that your schedule has become crowded and you can only fit paying gigs in. As you gain experience from these freebies, make sure that you get in writing that you retain rights to your work so you can use it for your video resume that you will use to promote yourself. Keep shooting.

Participant

Its not just in video, its in every walk of life. Not only is there a sucker born every minute but ten of those looking to take advantage of each of those suckers.