Wireless Mic Battery Life and Interference

Videomaker – Learn video production and editing, camera reviews Forums Technique Sound Wireless Mic Battery Life and Interference

• This topic has 3 replies, 1 voice, and was last updated 9 years ago by AvatarAnonymous.
Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

Hi All!

I am a novice to recording video and I have been recording on my Kodak Zi8 using an Azden WM Pro Wireless mic setup. It runs on 9V batteries, and it seems I start to get bad interference after only about an hour to 90 minutes of usage. I am using 1200 volt work lights to light my set (I told you I was a novice) and I thought originally they were causing the interference, but when I change the battery, the interference goes away, which leads me to believe it’s battery life.

Does anyone have any experience with this problem? Is a short battery life typical? The product specs say 8 hours of life, and the lights still come on when I use the old batteries, but that interference just won’t quit. I tried changing channels, and not using the lights, and the same problem persists.

Thanks!

Participant

We use both AudioTechnica and Shure wireless microphones and have never had this problem. Typically when a battery runs out the mic simply stops working. One second it’s on, the next it’s off. We usually change batteries after 4 hours of shooting but I suspect we could get more out of them if we wanted to take the risk.

It sounds like perhaps there’s something else going on with your mics to cause the interference. Contact Azden tech support and see if they have any suggestions.

Jack

Inactive

Thanks Jack. I will.

Participant