WHY ARE MIAMI FREELANCE EDITORS WORKING FOR LESS?

Videomaker – Learn video production and editing, camera reviews Forums General Video and Film Discussion WHY ARE MIAMI FREELANCE EDITORS WORKING FOR LESS?

Viewing 8 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

I am a freelance editor in Miami..and my hourly rate was or is40hr. last year it was lowered to 35.00 at a tv network…and now more production houses and local tv networks are only paying 25hr. Last week I was offered a gig and they only wanted to pay 20hr! I refused!! I am afraid that more editors take these positions and the rest of us are screwed! I don’t get it.

Participant

I live in south Florida (Palm Beach County) and I think it boils down to three words – The economy sucks. In Florida more so than the most of the rest of the US (or at least it seems so to me & others I know).

It also doesn’t help that folks from places like Craig’s List (some good, most no talent or skill) are undercutting professionals just to get a foot in the door.

Often I have not been able to charge an hourly rate and was forced into quoting a fixed price model to get work.

Participant

Doing google searches for salaries of film/video editors in the US are showing average ranges of $32K-$58K/year and depends on market. Most current data as of Mar 11 2011.

Inactive

Well, I don’t even live in Florida and just two weeks ago I was able to secure a gig paying $55 hr for a Spanish Network Television there… Maybe you guys need to star marketing your self in a different way…

I think pricing/living/working in Florida WAS the point.

Participant

The short answer, Alex: