Who here composes music for video/film?

Viewing 21 reply threads
  • Author

Hello –

This is my first post here. Thought I’d make my first topic about something I (kind of) know about, film composition. First, a bit about me with regards to video. I’m a full-time ICU/CCU nurse. In other words, my knowledge base to videography is “basic” at best. LOL! However, I do a fair amount of video-taping for the hospital where I work. I’m a kind soul and video-tape educational in-services so that employees who are not able to attend the actual in-service can at least see it on DVD. For the past few years, I’ve been doing a LOT of this. It is through this particular video-taping/editing that I’ve been learning about the craft of videography (very much a self-learner). (Keep in mind that when I learned “Film Composition”, there was no computer-based audio/video editing ANYTHING. LOL! I “Cut and Paste” by literally cutting the 1/4″ reel-to-reel audio tape and (literally) taping the spliced ends together. All of this was done on top of a flat-bed movieola. LOL! I also learned how to use an upright movieola! LOL!)

My favorite part video-editing process of the taped educational in-services is composing music to the video. I never thought that I would end up composing music video. . . . using a computer. LOL! But it is a wonderful creative outlet for me.

I use Apple’s Logic Pro (9.1.6) for the main DAW software with lots of instrumental libraries including GPO, JABB, Kirk Hunter Studio libraries, guitar libraries from Music Lab, and many others as well. All seems to work well together.

I am thinking about branching out and lending myself to film students (students in high school or college) who might want original music for their films (videos). I’m thinking that it could become a nice (and serious) hobby. And, should enough work come my way, I would be willing to take on other video-scoring projects to that could turn into (at least) supplemental income.