Which ZR Camera

Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

I am new to the world of digital cameras, and am starting out on the entry level ZR series from Canon. I have a choice between the ZR800 and the ZR850. The price difference is only $9 due to a sale at Best Buyt his week on the ZR850. Still shots would be nice, but not neceesary as I already have a digi camera. What I am looking at is if either have pass through so I can transfer my VHS to Mac for DVD. I seem to recall that i did see the the 800 had pass through, but the 850 did not. Other than that, is there anything else that I am missing?

Inactive

pastorjay,

I’m not sure, but I think the ZR800 has an input for an external microphone. As you get more into video production, you’ll find that using an external microphone (maybe a shotgun mic, or maybe a wireless lapel mic) greatly improves your videos.

Ken Hull

Participant

Any word on pass through? I need to be able to record my VHS to DVD..

Thanks for the help!

Inactive

pastorjay,

According to the ZR800 specifications published on the http://www.BHphotovideo.com website, the ZR800 has Line-In Recording, as well as both IEEE 1394 and AV outputs. Sounds like that’s what you want.

BTW, I’d record from VHS tape to a minDV cassette in the ZR800. Then use the firewire (IEEE1394) to transfer to your computer, where you can edit it and burn DVDs.

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/478924-REG/Canon_1880B001_ZR800_Mini_DV_Camcorder.html

Ken Hull

Participant

Ken, from looking at the specs of the 850, it seems to have that as well. Am i reading the right thing?

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/478921-REG/Canon_1878B001_ZR850_Mini_DV_Camcorder.html#Input/Output%20Connectors

Inactive

pastorjay,

Looking at the specs on BH, there’s nothing listed under “inputs”, only under “outputs”. Also, there’s no mic input, like there is for the ZR800.