Which software ..Vegas, Roxio, Ulead or Adobe elements???

Videomaker – Learn video production and editing, camera reviews Forums Technique Editing Which software ..Vegas, Roxio, Ulead or Adobe elements???

Viewing 9 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Hi All

I am fairly new to video editing and was wondering if I could tap into all the talent that is on this forum.
      I am wanting to do some video editing of kids, birthdays, etc and was wondering which software you recommend.
      I am not going to try and make money out of this, although if it comes my way I wont object. X-D
      I am really looking for something which has built in templates/themes for the "quick and nasty stuff", good effects to spice it up a bit and something that will take multiple audio and video channels.

Any advice you have would be most appreciated.

Thanks for taking time to read this

Best regards

Armand

Participant

Sony Vegas- very easy to use but just as professional as any other high end editing program. I really like its easy to use drag and drop timeline which allows you to adjust quite a few things right on it. It also offers automatic transitions which are applied when two consecutive video clips overlap which I find extremely logical since a transition is nothing more than going from one scene to another and the duration of the overlap is the duration of the transition (which by default is a crossfade but you can choose from a whole bunch of others). So far it is also the only software I’ve found that allows you to do very quick fade ins and fade outs, something you’ll use a lot, especially when working with multiple audio tracks at the same time. And Sony Vegas is also extremely flexible with formats whereby it doesn’t care about the codec, file extenstion, framerate or resolution but simply allows you to stick everything onto one timeline.