Which camcorder sony or panasonic

Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

Hi I am wondering which camcorder would be better for me. I am a realtor and will be doing videos of homes to put on the net and it will be also used for vacations and family. For homes I def need to be able to shoot inside with low light and outside with normal light. Been thnking about the sony dcr-sr300 or the panasonic sdr-h200 unles someone here has a better idea for me. I apprecitate all the help I can get

Inactive

First, I am of the mind that you can’t really ever go wrong with Sony and when in doubt or all else being equal, go Sony. In this case, I would also vote Sony. The Sony has a 1.5 lux rating while the Panasonic has a 12 lux (1 lux in Magicpix, which I really don’t have a clue what that is but I would guess it was related to infrared pix or something else) A 1.5 lux is awesome though. However, the Panasonic is a 3 chip cam (small 1/6" chips though) while the Sony is one very large chip (1/2.9").
      However, (again) the Panny has CCD (which I prefer) chips while the Sony has CMOS. All in all though, if low light is important, go with the Sony. For a better review check out cnet.com.

Inactive

I notice that both of the camcorders you mentioned record to an internal hard drive. That’s become a popular feature in the last year or 2. But most of the "serious" amateur videographers here prefer camcorders which record to miniDV tape cassettes. The reason is that they can get a slightly better video quality.