When do you get to….

Viewing 16 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

When do you get to start calling yourself a professional?

Participant

tramp…does it for fun.

pro…does it for money.

either way it’s fun.

Participant

Yeah, I call myself a pro on my blog/website since I get paid to shoot and edit video.

Same with web design and graphic design.

Participant

You probably already are. πŸ˜‰

Participant

I’ve had a serious peeve about this for years.

Professional means that you’ve been paid (however much or little) to do something. If you’ve ever been paid to videotape anything, you’re a professional videographer. Plain and simple.

However, that doesn’t mean you’re good at it (no slur implied – just stating a general possibility).

In my youth, when I was a professional photographer, I studied under the tutelage of some amazing “amateur” photographers – One in particular had the distinction of (at the time) having won more blue ribbons (first place) in amateur photo contests than anyone else in the country (US).

Was he a professional? No.

Was he amazingly talented and one of the best? Without a doubt.

Don’t get hung up on labels – Just go and do what you a) enjoy and/or b) are good at.

Participant

I agree, don’t get hung up on labels. My pet peeve is polls of which NLE is better. LOL If you are comfortable with it, it’s best for you. Everyone always votes for their NLE. People always expound the virtues of Brand X over Brand Y when in reality Brand X is probably what they found, liked and became used to and now swear by it. Someone else may have ended up with Brand Y and did the same. It means nothing.

The “Top 3” or “Top 5” NLE is hogwash! There are people producing wonderful video with the last 5 and the top 5. Some cannot afford the top 5 and others choose the last 5. The number one NLE is the one that you use and love. No matter which one that is.